Connect with us

MEF Announces New Leadership for 2016-2017


MEF Announces New Leadership for 2016-2017

The global industry alliance, MEF has announced the results of the election to opt the 2016-2017 Board of Directors at the recently held MEF Annual Members Meeting in Boston, USA. As per the new election result, the new appointed Director is Bob Metcalfe – Professor of Electrical Engineering and Director of Innovation at the University of Texas, Austin. Other appointed advisory directors include Axel Clauberg – Vice President, IP & Optical, Deutsche Telekom AG and Huiling Zhao – Director of the Cloud Research Center, China Telecom.


The newly appointed officers include Nan Chen – President; Mike Strople – Chairman; Kevin Vachon – Chief Operating Officer; Pascal Menezes – Chief Technology Officer; and Eric Puetz – Treasurer, Scott Mansfield – Secretary.

The new Board of Directors will include veterans from Verizon, CENX, Ericsson, Comcast, etc. Among the members are Vincent Alesi – Distinguished Member of Technical Staff, Network Services Planning, Verizon; Nan Chen – Executive Vice Chairman, CENX; Lance Hassan – Director of Commercial Services, Charter Communications; Allan Langfield – Executive Director, Product Development, Comcast; Scott Mansfield – Principal Engineer, Ericsson; Eric Puetz – Director, Standards and Industry Alliances, AT&T Labs; Raghu Ranganathan – Principal & Distinguished Engineer, Office of CTO, Ciena; Ralph Santitoro – Head of SDN/NFV Solutions Practice, Fujitsu Network Communications; Shahar Steiff – AVP New Technology, PCCW Global; Michael Strople – Managing Director, Canada, Zayo Group & President, Zayo Managed Services, Zayo Group; and Alessandro Talotta – Chief Executive Officer, Telecom Italia Sparkle.

The Certification Committee will be headed by Eric Puetz (AT&T) and John Hawkins (Ciena). The Global Marketing Committee will be under the in-charge of Ralph Santitoro (Fujitsu Network Communications) and Rami Yaron (Telco Systems). The Technical and Operations Committee will be headed by Raghu Ranganathan (Ciena) and Shahar Steiff (PCCW Global).

Commenting on the change of leadership, Nan Chen, President of MEF, said, “MEF has completed one of the most productive fiscal years in the organization’s 15-year history, and we topped things off with a record number of 17 new Members joining in our closing quarter. I want to thank MEF leadership team members for their outstanding contributions in guiding MEF’s work to realize the Third Network vision. I look forward to working with this great group of professionals to reshape the communications industry with exciting new service and technology innovations.”

In this fiscal year, MEF will focus on advancing work in four key areas — Third Network services (including orchestrated CE 2.0, IP, and other Layer 1 – 7 services); LSO APIs and other specifications; Open Initiatives; and certification programs for services, equipment, and professionals.



RSS Technology – Hardware

RSS Technology – Networks

RSS Technology – Robotics

RSS Technology -Semiconductors / Chips

RSS Technology – Software

RSS Telecommunications – Networks

RSS Telecommunications – Services

To Top